Good Morning Daffodils

I haven’t posted in over six months. 

I also haven’t run outdoors in the city for over six months.

And, believe it or not, I haven’t had a drink in over six months!

This morning I decided to risk a run up the Hudson River, my favorite running spot during the warm months.  I couldn’t help but think about the Boston marathon this past Monday as I ran.  As I looked towards the Freedom Tower, still not complete after eleven years, I still remembered the terror of that day, eleven and a half years ago, that changed so many of our lives forever.  The skyline of Manhattan will never be the same without the Twin Towers standing proudly on the southern end of our island, and for me, marking the spot very close to the home where I have raised my children.

And now Boston… certainly the magnitude of what happened can’t be compared to our 9/11, but it was still a terrible act of hatred and violence, killing three people and forever maiming others.  As a former marathoner, I was particularly struck by the news early Monday afternoon when my husband called to tell me that two bombs had gone off near the finish line in Boston.  I know how special running a marathon is, the months and months of training and discipline, the hours spent getting in our best running form.  Imagine going out to run in Boston on Monday, or standing by the finish line, cheering on the tens of thousands of top runners who were out there doing their very best.  Imagine the shock and anguish when bombs went off, knocking runners to the ground, injuring over twenty people so badly (and intentionally) with shrapnel that their limbs had to be removed.  Imagine living the rest of your life without a leg because you chose to celebrate athletic excellence.

Even more than Boston, I have spent the past several days thinking about how acts like this, and worse, occur all over the world every single day.  It is always when it is closer to home that it really seems to impact many of us, but we need to think of all of the other people who lose their lives or their loved ones every single day.

I was happy to be outside this morning, running along the Hudson River.  The daffodils were in full bloom.  Daffodils represent two things to me: Spring, and brightness.  This past winter in New York City was pretty long and pretty cold and pretty relentless, but spring poked its head out this morning, along with the daffodils, so I grabbed it while I could.

I hope you can grab some today too.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good Morning Daffodils

  1. elliot schwartz says:

    i am delighted that you are back. i enjoy reading your blogs. elliot

Leave a Reply

