Must See Movie: “Life of Pi”

My daughter, my son and I have all read the novel “Life of Pi” by Yann Martel.  It is hard to believe that I read this book over ten years ago.  My son was asking me some questions about it the other day and I could not remember the details.  Wonder why?

All three of us were excited when we saw the trailers for the movie version, and we trekked up to Kips Bay on Saturday to see it.  My daughter and I did not want to see it in 3-D (headaches, uncomfortable glasses that fall off, infantile), my son was vying for 3-D, but two out of three ruled and we went to the 2-D version.

Pi is a remarkable boy, who grows up in French India in a family with a dad who is an Atheist and a mom who is Hindu.  He grabs onto Hindu beliefs immediately, but is then intrigued by Jesus Christ and grabs onto him and his truths next, followed by Buddhist beliefs.

How can you practice so many religions simultaneously? his father asks him.  This after stating how truly delicious the meat on his dinner plate is, while Pi, his brother, and his mom all eat their daily vegetarian fare.  But Pi is unfazed.  The more Gods the better for him, the more religions the better.  This is a young boy/man who is open to religion and spirituality  in multiple forms, a child who is an old soul even at a very young age.

The story of the shipwreck that Pi and his family encounter and Pi’s journey on a life boat with only a deadly Bengal tiger for company is intriguing, colorful, and completely mesmerizing.  The cinematography is absolutely gorgeous.  The skies, the seas, the wild life that Pi encounters are vivid and beautifully shot.  You will feel like you are there with him.

And that was in 2-D! I hate to admit it, but I really want to go back and see it in 3-D immediately.  I never see a movie twice in quick succession, but this will be a definite exception.  During many scenes I was craving the 3-D version, realizing just how much more vivid and beautiful it would be with the extra dimension.  My son was right (are you reading this son? Of course not, he would reply if he was reading this.  You know I don’t read your blog).

Suggestion: can somebody make a more comfortable, better fitting pair of 3-D glasses? My husband has never seen a 3-D movie (kind of amazing and sad at the same time) because he wears glasses and does not know how the 3-D pair would work with his other pair.  Does anybody know? I really want him to see this movie with me.

See “Life of Pi”.  It is unlike anything else.  It is inspiring.  It is beautiful, poignant, happy and sad.  It is all that a movie should be.

We gave it three thumbs up.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Must See Movie: “Life of Pi”

  1. I read this novel shortly after moving to Japan in ’04. I don’t remember all of the details, but I do remember intentionally choosing to be late from lunch in order to finish reading it, and returning from lunch with tears–most of which had nothing to do with sadness–streaming down my face.

  2. Jack says:

    You do realize that all of that beautiful imagery was nearly completely Computer generated.

  3. The Artist says:

    I am one of the people who worked on Life of Pi. The fact that you say “The skies, the seas, the wild life that Pi encounters are vivid and beautifully shot. You will feel like you are there with him.” – is truly a compliment, considering most of those things were done by artists at our studio. This blog post is tangible evidence of a job well done.

    Thank you for your support.

  4. Martin says:

    I have glasses and I have absolutely no problem wearing 3d glasses on top of my prescription glasses.

Leave a Reply

