Happy “Thanks”giving

Every year I make sure to say “thanks” on Thanksgiving.  I try to write a gratitude list several times a year, but on this day in particular I am steadfast about it.  At dinner we always go around the table and everybody says something that he or she is grateful for.  Today will be no exception.

Here is my gratitude list for today:

1. I am grateful that my daughter is home from college and that my husband, son and daughter all slept under the same roof (the one we call home) last night.

2. I am grateful to have a wonderful husband who is my best friend, lover, confidante, and loyal companion.  I love you honey! It took me a while to find Mr. Right but I am so grateful to be with you and I look forward to every single day with you, and to growing older and older and older together.

3. I am grateful that I have two fantastic and healthy children, whom I love more than life itself.  Children (I know you hate when I call you that), I am so proud of both of you, and watching you grow into such beautiful, intelligent and interesting young adults is a great joy for me to behold.

4.  I am grateful for my family of origin, and I am crazy in love with my gorgeous father.  Daddy, I miss you terribly today.  Thanksgiving was always my favorite holiday to share with our family, and Mom’s cooking was especially delicious each year (especially her stuffing!).  I wish we were sharing some turkey and pumpkin pie together, but I am looking forward to visiting you in the not too distant future.

Brothers, big and small (or perhaps I should say older and younger) you are both very dear to me and I wish you both a wonderful day today.  I hope we can all gather as a family again sooner rather than later.

5. I am grateful for my husband’s family.  I adore and love his parents dearly.  I am lucky to have a wonderful sister-in-law, replete with great husband and two fabulous sons.  Also, thank you for living nearby!!!

6. I am grateful for my sister-in-law in L.A. too! She is a doll.  I wish we could see each other more often.

7. I am grateful for my friends, old and new.   All of you.  Thank you for being in my life and letting me be in yours.

8. I am grateful to have a beautiful home in Soho and another in Delray Beach.  I am grateful to have the means to work hard and provide a good life for myself and my children.  I am grateful to have a new convertible! I am grateful to be warm and fed and clothed.  (I know, these are material things, but they do help if the other things are in place.)

9. I am grateful that I have had the ability to stop drinking for forty-two days now (yep… that is six weeks today!).  My days are longer and brighter, my mind clearer, my life more productive.  I know this will come of a shock to all of my drinking buddies, but I am actually loving my Pellegrino with a lemon wedge more than I was a big fat full-bodied glass of red wine.  My past efforts to take a break from alcohol never lasted beyond two days, so this is truly a mini-miracle for me.

And now I will stop.  Think about what you are thankful for today.  Maybe ask your family to share their gratitude around your table today.  Sometimes taking a moment to think about it really makes a difference, as does saying it aloud.

Happy Thanksgiving my friends.  Gobble gobble.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

