Adam Duritz Rocked Roseland Last Night!

No matter how many times I see the Counting Crows I am left wanting more, more, more.  In anticipation of last night’s show at Roseland Ballroom I listened to their new album and read avidly about Adam Duritz and his current mental state.  I have seen him “up” and I have seen him “down”.  What would he be like this time, I wondered? Clearly his mental state has not been great this past year, as he has isolated in his astro-turfed apartment and weaned himself off of countless prescription drugs.

So how was he? You probably already guessed, based on the title of this post.  He was great! I have never seen him better! I was so happy for him.  He was funny.  He was talkative.  His dance moves were amazing.  His hand motions were nonstop, as they always are, his arms out like wings when he sang of flying, his hands stroking his face like a paintbrush when he spoke of painting faces, and so on and so on and so on.  He is adorable.

He played a lot of the tried and true stuff, which, of course, was fantastic.  “Mr. Jones” and “Goodnight Elizabeth” and “Holiday in Spain” and “Monkey” and “Rain King”, among many others.  I don’t know how I never owned the song “Holiday in Spain” before, but I just purchased it on Itunes.  If you don’t have it, you need to listen.  It is incredible.  They also played a new single called “Meet on the Ledge” which I somehow overlooked while checking out their new album “Underwater Sunshine (Or What We Did On Our Summer Vacation)”.  I just bought that too (at this point I really should have just purchased the entire album, as I have bought four songs from it this week, but it’s too late to cry over that mistake).

Duritz wore his standard outfit: wrinkled blue jeans and a t-shirt, scuffed up boots.  He looked good, though a tad chubby in the middle (but what else is new?).  His hair is insane right now, but again, what else is new? It was very big, with lots of shorter dreads on top.  He looks like he needs the care of a woman, and guess what? I have the perfect woman for him! My friend Lori, who is also a huge fan.  We are plotting their first meeting as I type.  If you have any suggestions, inside scoop on where he’s buying his lunches these days, or whatever, please do let me know.

I want to mention what his t-shirt said last night.  “Sleep is So Last Night”, it read.  You can take that however you want, but my son and I thought it was pretty cool.

As the show ended (oh, why did it have to end?), they put on “California Dreaming”.  The band left the stage, but Duritz stood up on some blocks at the front on the stage and sang and danced along.  Look at me, he seemed to be saying, I am the king of the world! He was definitely loving life, and that is really all that matters in the end.

Rock on Adam Duritz! We love you.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Adam Duritz Rocked Roseland Last Night!

  1. Charissa says:

    Did you guys end up meeting? How are you planning their first meeting?

  2. Charissa says:

    Also, I’ve seen him talk about this resteraunt “The Smile” before… Apparently it’s one of his favorites… The Smile NYC, 26 Bond Street…

    • mallorylayne says:

      no, we haven’t. thanks for telling us about the smile though. does he go there for lunch or dinner. do you know? i have never heard of it and i am on bond street quite often.

  3. Charissa says:

    I’m not really sure.. I would imagine for dinner… the last time I saw, he posted something on instagram & he had a rack of ribs.. so I would assume dinner.

Leave a Reply

