Counting Crows are Coming to Town!

I have been a huge Counting Crows fan for a long time.  They are playing at Roseland on Thursday night, and we are going! In anticipation, I was perusing Itunes this morning (for a change) to see what’s new from them, as most bands are apt to play a lot of their new stuff when they tour.  Their latest album, “Underwater Sunshine (Or What We Did On Our Summer Vacation)”, is pretty disappointing.  It’s a covers album, so maybe that is why.  It is the first album they have released in four years.  I did, however, buy three songs from it.  They are:

“Ohh La La,” and

“Untitled (Love Song)”,

“Amie,” always a favorite (a Pure Praire League original).

I figured if you can’t beat ’em join ’em, as they are sure to play these, right?

However, to round this out, I am going to share with you what I think is the best Counting Crows song ever.  It is:

“Angels of the Silences”.

I am listening to it now as I type.  I guess I’ll be listening to a lot of Counting Crows this week.  I cannot wait to see Adam Duritz live again.  He is an absolute genius, addled by just enough insanity to create brilliant music and stay alive.  He has been suffering terribly over the past year plus, trying to wean himself off of seven medications that had been prescribed for him to treat his mental demons, and he experienced withdrawal and more.  He says that he has been isolating in his apartment for almost a year.  I wish I could hang out with him.  His apartment has astroturf now, did you know that? I think he lives near me.

Adam’s performances deviate radically.  I have seen him better than almost any performer ever, and I have seen him “off” for sure.  I hope he is great this week, not just for me, but for him.  Why are so many geniuses plagued by mental illness? I guess the answer is obvious… their struggles make them brilliant, or brilliance often goes hand in hand with eccentricity.

Anyway, I can’t wait until Thursday at Roseland.  It is always cool to check out what tee shirt Adam is wearing and how is hair is styled.  I love you Adam.  Only health and good things to you.  Now start writing your own songs again, please!!!

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

