I Want to Be a Dog

I want to be a dog.  I realized this as I was picking up my dog’s poop and flushing it down the toilet yesterday. 

Wouldn’t it be great to have someone take care of you all the time? You would never have to worry about housing, food, or bills.

My dog was crying the other day.  “Grandpa,” I asked him, “what do you possibly have to cry about?” I mean really! I was running around, unpacking, doing housework, taking my sick daughter to the doctor for a strep test (it was positive), getting her medication so she could go back to school and get better, working, paying bills, and more and more and more.

I want to be a dog.  I want to be able to sleep most of the day.  I want my meals prepared for me with love, and my bowls to be cleaned for me.  I went to nap in a sliver of sunshine shining through the window.  I want to jump up on every comfortable chair, bed and couch and never have to worry about doing the laundry or getting things cleaned if I’m stinky.  I want to have my belly rubbed and to have a groomer clean me.

In my past lives I was a frog and a cow.  By the way, both of these are also great things to be, though as a frog the water is pretty mucky and sometimes cold.  Hopping is fun though.  Being a cow was great.  Similar to a dog’s life, but able to “give back” by providing milk every day. 

Next time I would like to be a dog.  Do you hear me Spirit? I will be good, I promise.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

