Father’s Day Revisited 2011/2012

Since so many people have read my Father’s Day post from 2011, I have decided to make a few changes to it to reflect the changes that have occurred over the past year:

I would like to honor two of my very favorite men in the world (tied only with my son who is not yet a father) on this Father’s Day.

First my dad:

Daddy, you are a beautiful man, inside and out.  I can’t believe you turned eighty this year, and I am so happy that all of your children were able to celebrate with you! You always smell so good and look so nice, and you taught me what to strive for in a partner, though it took me a very long time to find someone worthy.  I know it wasn’t always easy for you being my father, but I hope that the pleasure I give you now (most of the time) has made up for some of the grey hairs that I caused you in my earlier years.

One of my favorite Daddy quotes was when I became a mom for the first time and he told me, “You have finally become a nice person.  You used to be such a b—h!”.  It wasn’t easy to hear that, but becoming a parent myself definitely added a layer of selflessness and caring that I had not experienced before.

Daddy, I am so happy that I have you in my life.  You are a terrific role model, and I will fly out to Las Vegas to see you all the time for as long as you live (which had better be a very, very long time… do you hear me?).

I love you Daddy!

Now for my husband (last year he was my boyfriend!!!):

Husband, you are gorgeous inside and out and you also smell amazing all the time (just like my Dad).  You always look nice too (call me superficial, but this does make a difference).  I am always proud to have you by my side, and to tell the world that you are my husband. 

You are a wonderful father to your beautiful girls and stepdad to my children, and I think that in particular you have been a great role model for my son.  Now he wants to be a banker, going to sporting events and getting great seats like you do sometimes.  Thank you so much for being so tolerant and wonderful to them.  You could have any woman in the world, and I am so grateful that you picked me.  You are truly the soulmate that I have always dreamed of, and I hope to grow old and grey by your side (though I promise to color my hair always).  I am so glad that your children will be with you to celebrate today, and that your adorable dad will be there as well.

I love you husband.

Happy Father’s Day to both of my special fatherly men and to all of you wonderful dads out there!

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

