College: It’s Really Happening

It was with pleasure and pain that I wrote the first check for my daughter’s college tuition a few minutes ago.  Pleasure because she is so ready.  She is so smart and curious and amazing in so many ways.  I know that she will flourish in a learning environment filled with other bright students and incredible professors.  Pain because she is growing up in the blink of an eye and I am going to miss her so much that my eyes tear up as I write this, or whenever I express this feeling to others.

I don’t think my parents cried when I went to college.  I know that I didn’t.  I couldn’t wait to go and I think they felt similarly about me leaving.  My college years were among the best of my life.  I loved the learning, the friendships I made (many of which I have kept for over thirty years now), the intellectual and emotional growth.

Still a child, but on the way to adulthood.

I joke with my daughter all the time that I’m going to drive up to her college every Monday morning when she leaves for class.  I will do her laundry and clean her room as it is sure to be a disaster.  Housecleaning is not her forte, to say the least.  I will throw out the pizza that I may find under her pillow, change her linens.  And then? I will take her out for lunch or dinner and then take my leave.

I wrote the first check today baby.  Only two months until you leave on this incredible journey.  I love you so much.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

