My First Book Club Meeting!

I have always wanted to be in a Book Club and now I have one.  Our first meeting was last night and it was fantastic.

How did this Book Club begin, you ask? Well, let me explain…

I reconnected with a childhood friend on Facebook.  She started to read this blog and wrote me comments often.  Not too long ago she said we should start a TV Club to talk about some of the shows I write about (i.e., Girls).  I wrote back saying that I have wanted to have a Book Club for a long time and she said “Let’s do it!”.

So we did.

She is a teacher and extremely organized, so she took the reins.  We each invited a few friends and our first meeting was at my house last night.  We ate a lot and drank a little wine.  We socialized and got to know each other a bit, and then we discussed the book, “Unorthodox” by Deborah Feldman.  It is a fascinating story of a young woman who is raised in Williamsburg in the strictest of Hasidic traditions.  She decides to leave her arranged marriage and her strict religious ties, and is able to do so by signing a book deal to write about her journey.  I would have never read this book had it not been chosen by the members of the club, and I’m really glad to have read it and had a chance to discuss it with a roomful of colorful and bright women.

The bonus? My daughter was our guest this time, and she will be able to join us for our second meeting too! She was adorable, and everybody enjoyed her participation.  As a current student, she kept commenting that we are all talking over each other, which we were! That is something we will need to work on.

We are working on choosing our next book.  Any suggestions? No memoirs this time.

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

