Lena Dunham – My New Hero!

Lena Dunham is so adorable that I just want to hug her! If you haven’t watched the first three episodes of “Girls” yet on HBO you must.  She is the most hysterical character (playing Hannah) I have ever seen.

I am not jiving you… you MUST watch it!

Two years out of college she is:

Self-effacing yet self-accepting,

Suffering from delusions of grandeur as Hannah (but based on Lena’s real life I guess they really aren’t delusions at all),

Her own worst enemy (for example, making completely crass and inappropriate comments at an interview and then, surprise, surprise — not getting the job!).

Children! That’s all I can say (even though she isn’t really a child).  But children are just not growing up as fast today as they did in my day.  I was twenty-two when I graduated from Graduate School and I was on my own from that day on.  My parents didn’t pay my rent.  They didn’t buy me my first apartment.  They didn’t even buy me clothes when I landed my first job.

Today children are either moving back in with their parents or else they are being funded by them (if not a wealthy grandparent).  They don’t have to grow up, so they take unpaid internships, sleep late, party a lot, travel.  Which is better? I don’t know, but I am happier that I grew up when I did.  Given the choice though, I think I would have preferred to be born in the 1930’s, when it was easier to get jobs and to make a lot of money if you were driven to do so.  So many incredible people now cannot pay their bills even if they do get jobs. 

Boy oh boy, this world is exhausting.

But then there’s “Girls”.

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

