Hooked on “Fifty Shades of Grey”

Just two short months ago I had never heard of “Fifty Shades of Grey” or E.L. James.  All of that changed on a plane ride from Florida to NYC when a thirty-something woman from Long Island was holding up her I-Pad just high enough (with a very large font) for my husband and I to peruse every word on the screen. 

Bondage!

Sadomasochism!

Sex!

Romance!

“Thanks for sharing,” I commented as we were disembarking.

“Oh!” she responded, a bit embarrassed (but not really).  “Haven’t you heard of Fifty Shades of Grey?”

We hadn’t.

“All of the women on Long Island are reading it.  It’s a trilogy.”

Still uninterested, life went on and I didn’t think of Fifty Shades again.

At the gym a couple of weeks ago a building friend asked me if I had heard of the “Fifty Shades of Grey” trilogy.  She is a photographer and had just done a shoot of E.L. James and some of her followers.  Now my curiousity was definitely peaked and I went to Amazon and ordered the first book.

I finished it last night.  I couldn’t put it down.  I am about to order Book 2.  I’m so happy that it’s rainy and dank outside so I can have an excuse to lie in bed late this afternoon for a few hours and start reading again.

“Fifty Shades of Grey” is not just about a man with dominant sexual proclivities.  It is so much more.

It’s a love story;

It’s a coming of age tale;

It’s psychologically complex;

It’s a modern day fairy tale.

The ending left me sad and I’m hoping that Book 2 changes that… though I’m not very optimistic that it will.  Ladies can dream, and E.L. James got that right.  I want to buy the first book for every woman I know, and I don’t feel that way often.  Read it ladies!

I have to go now.  “Fifty Shades Darker” and “Fifty Shades Freed” await me.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hooked on “Fifty Shades of Grey”

  1. Alison D. says:

    I couldn’t put any of them down. Hope you like the next two books!

Leave a Reply

