I’m Back!!!

You may have been wondering where I’ve been.  I haven’t written in almost two weeks — very unlike me, right? Thanks for all the calls and notes worrying about me.  Thank you for the flowers.  I was inundated with arrangements when I got back to New York, and my apartment looks gorgeous filled with roses and tulips and orchids and more.  The cash gifts were really not expected, but I do appreciated them.

So.  Where was I?

Delray Beach! We closed on our new home and I was down there fixing up house.  It was not your typical Florida vacation, relaxing on the beach, dipping your toes in the ocean, walking along the coastline hand in hand with your loved ones, swimming laps and sipping cappucinos by the pool.

This vacation was filled with:

Waiting for deliveries (many of which never showed),

Standing for hours in a house with NO furniture – NO seating,

Meeting with painters and handymen and electricians,

Interviewing landscapers and pool cleaning companies and housekeepers,

Shopping at CVS, Walmart (a first for me and my son… not sure I want to repeat it in this lifetime), Target, Publix, Bed, Bath and Beyond, Bloomingdale’s, lighting stores, fan stores, furniture stores…,

Lugging things home and cleaning them,

Making beds,

Stocking shelves, and more fun every single day!

When you buy a house you don’t think about some of the things you need to put in it.  Here are a few we got that you probably haven’t had to purchase in a while:

Pillows,

Toilet paper holders,

Spices,

A vacuum cleaner,

A stepladder,

Bath towels,

Beach towels,

Lights,

Night tables,

A dining room table,

Toothbrush holders,

Dishes,

Glasses,

Flatware,

Pots and pans,

A colander,

Flatware,

Steak knives,

Knives in general.

Believe me when I say that I could go on.

On the positive side I got a lot accomplished, spent time with my husband and then my children, saw some old and close friends, ran by the ocean every morning and actually spent one hour at the beach.  Delray rocks.  We had some good food as usual.

I love my new house! I was so sad to leave.  It is sunny and beautiful and most of all it is ours.  It is the first place that my husband and I have moved into together and started from scratch with.  It may be mostly empty, but it already feels like home.

I can’t wait to go back.

 

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

