What is a Therapist Really?

I am meeting with a new therapist today.  I’m actually kind of excited.  Truth be told, I outgrew my old therapist years ago, but laziness kept me crawling back whenever I found myself needing to vent or needing mothering advice, or whatever I thought I needed.  She finally kicked me out though, so I have been forced to find someone new.

It’s almost like an internet date:

Will I like her?

Will she like me?

Will we decide to work together, seeing one another weekly, or will I walk out of her office realizing that it is not a love connection?

I like her name.

I like her accent.

I hope I like her too.

Did you ever realize that therapist can be broken down to:

The Rapist?

I don’t know why I never thought of that until this morning.  Haha.  This one charges so much that she really could be the rapist, if you know what I mean.  My Dad always said I wouldn’t make a living as a therapist, but looking at what I’m paying for my daughter’s therapist, and what my husband pays for his daughter’s therapist, and what this woman today charges, I’m not so sure I agree.  Well, truth be told, they are all MD’s, and I would have been a measly PhD had I gone forward past my MS (which I did not obviously or I wouldn’t be selling real estate now… or would I?).

Ok.  Wish me luck.  I have to go figure out what to wear for my date…

I mean my meeting with my new potential therapist.

I’ll keep you posted.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

