Grammy Highlights

Chris Martin and Paul McCartney.  It doesn’t get much better.  Whether you like awards shows or not, The Grammys always manage to deliver some incredible live music performances.  In some ways I prefer watching in bed to cramming into a crowded theatre.  Cuddling with my husband and my dog, watching comfortably… what could be bad?

Last time I saw Paul McCartney I fainted three times, and spent the evening being carried to and from the Nurse’s station at the Hard Rock.  It was much more relaxing to watch him from the comfort of my apartment last night.  Don’t get me wrong — I would see Coldplay and Paul McCartney any time, but I am too old to stand!!!

It is so nice to see Paul McCartney with Nancy Shevell.  She is gorgeous, age appropriate, a real woman.  We can forgive his mistake with Heather Mills, which he paid dearly for.  We all make mistakes of the heart.  I am so happy that he has found love again.  He is fantastic! Rock on Paul.

And Chris Martin? I don’t care what anybody says.  He is the real deal.  I don’t understand why so many people say that they don’t like Coldplay.  What’s not to like? He is a true rock star, and he performs with passion that is always refreshing to watch.  I just hope that he and Gwyneth can keep it together.  I mean really? Who else are they going to find that could ever compare with what they have right now? Of course it’s hard to keep a relationship alive, especially when you have young children and dual careers, but these two are such an incredible couple.  I hope they endure.

Whitney Houston died the day before the Grammys.  So ironic.  Way too soon.  She will always be loved and remembered.  Voices like hers are a rare commodity.  Unfortunately she fought demons and finally lost, at the mere age of 48.  It is so sad how so many of the most talented performers are also the most tortured.

Let’s take a moment for Etta James and Whitney Houston.  Let’s pray for Demi Moore and all the other actors and musicians who are currently seeking help for their problems, and hope that they emerge healthy and with a new lease on life.  It is too short to squander. 

Enjoy every day.  Listen to music! It’s the universal language (well, one of them at least).

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

