Why You Shouldn’t Kill Yourself

It has been said that suicide is a permanent solution to a temporary problem.  I tend to agree.  I could see killing yourself if you had a horrible terminal illness with no hopes for survival, but short of that I think it’s a mistake.

Why is killing yourself a mistake?

Well, first of all, it’s incredibly selfish to those you leave behind.  We are dead forever once we’re gone (at least I believe that).  Why not try to enjoy the short time that we are on this planet?

Speaking of being on this planet, I am sure that there is life on so many other planets… why should we be the only ones? Think about it.  When I was a young child I was certain that there was another planet with people just like us, but that’s probably wrong.  There is probably so much other “life” out there that we aren’t aware of.  Why shouldn’t there be? I mean how in the world (haha) did we end up here anyway and why are we so special?

Anyway, I have two cases in point here.  The first is Owen Wilson.  I have seen a couple of photos of him this week with his little baby boy Andrew.  Owen looks so happy now.  Remember that he tried to kill himself not that long ago, feeling that his life was no longer worth living.  Not only does he seem happy now, but he is a father, and he brings so much joy to others through his acting.  Just five years ago he wanted his life to be over, but I would guess that if you asked him now he is very much happy to be alive.

The second case is a dear friend of mine who tried to kill herself two years ago, and she tried more than once.  It was the real deal.  She did not want to be here.  Today she is happier than I have ever seen her (and I would consider her truly happy, not just content).  She has love, friendships, a wonderful place to live and so much that she enjoys every single day.  She really wanted to die, but now she is glad to be here and has learned to truly envelope life and all the good things that it has to offer her.

Down to suicide! If you need a Dr. Kevorkian I totally get it (and I commend him for helping the people he assisted, although I know that the law and many others completely with me).

 

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

