A New High for a New Year

How am I going to survive this winter I thought to myself yesterday? I hadn’t left my apartment since Monday, and really didn’t want to… at least not until April, or until a car service pulled up outside my building to take me to the airport and then to Florida, L.A., Cabos, or any place warm and sunny with an ocean beach.

What to do?

Take out my Happy Light? I was definitely feeling crabby/moody/depressed, but I hate the way that light looks and takes up half of my desk.  What else? What else?

Physique 57!

My trainer and I were watching “Live With Kelly” recently and we saw a class being taught.  “That looks like fun,” I told him.

“There’s one on Spring Street and Sixth Avenue,” he told me.

Seriously? I pass there almost every day (at least when I’m not hibernating in my apartment).  I have never noticed it.

I went this morning.  It was amazing.  It’s inside an office building, with no signage, which explains why I had never seen it before.  I actually walked by twice before going into the building and finding it listed on their roster.

I took a one hour beginner class with Emily.  It was seriously hard.  I left with an endorphin high, and I haven’t had one of those in a while. 

It was amazing.  Try it if you need a healthy high or a new workout.  I am definitely going back.

And guess what? With the first class you get your second class free! I’m there.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A New High for a New Year

  1. lisa says:

    I’ve been going for about the past two years. I love it–perfect compliment to running. Maybe I will see you there.

  2. lisa says:

    Just soyou know which lisa this is –tompkins

  3. ntkaram14 says:

    I go on Mondays and Fridays at 9:15. It is an intermediate class but you can build up to that pretty quickly–it is not too much harder than the mixed class. It is the only other form of exercise that gives me the same kick that running does and it has made me so much stronger.

    • mallorylayne says:

      I loved it and 9:15 is the perfect time for me so I will try to go on Monday. I do yoga on Friday mornings at 9:30 — on my way over now! Would love to see you! It has been way too long. Love, Mallory

      • mallorylayne says:

        i am not seeing a 9:15 class on mondays. are you taking the 9 or the 9:30? there are 3 classes at 9 and 3 at 9:3. tell me which one you take and i will sign up for this monday with you. saw frank last night at hank and marla’s party. Emily T or Sarah G? I kind of think I should take the 9 am beginner but if you are going on monday i will try whichever class you are taking. let me know.

  4. Great to hear that you enjoyed your first class with Emily. Hope to see you back at the studio again soon!

  5. ntkaram14 says:

    It is a 9:15 intermediate class with Nora and Holly. You probably should take some beginner and mixed first—I think they recommend 10 mixed class before intermediate. I know you work out a lot so you may jump up faster than that but it is good to learn the different patterns they do etc… Hopefully I will see you there either way.

    • mallorylayne says:

      Ok. If I can’t take the intermediate I can’t go tomorrow because I have a lunch date in Tribeca at noon. Bummer. Thanks for the advice though. Hope to see you soon!

      xx

Leave a Reply

