My Daughter, the Next Smithie

They say that you are only as happy (or sad) as your children.  Well, sometimes that really is true.  We have been a bit consumed by the college admissions process, particularly over the past few days as we have waited to hear whether she has been accepted, deferred, or (horror of horrors) rejected from Smith, her absolutely favorite college.

My daughter visited a number of colleges and really liked several of them.  When we arrived at Smith though, she knew that it was the perfect college for her (and, amazingly, I completely agreed).  It’s great academically, we loved Northampton, the five college consortium is a great feature, it’s a perfect distance from home, close to Boston (which she loves), great size, beautiful campus, and on and on and on.

When I found my college I also had that feeling inside that it was definitely the place for me.  I, too, applied early decision and got in.  If you can do this it really takes a lot of stress out of your senior year of high school.

Anyway… this is not about me.  It is about my daughter.  I am thrilled beyond belief for her.  I know she will make a fabulous Smithie.  I could not be happier or more proud of her for her hard work throughout school and her fabulous extracurricular work and relationships with her professors.

I love you honey! You rock.

And remember… Northampton is so cool that I’m coming up to visit every single weekend.

Relax.  I’m joking.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Daughter, the Next Smithie

  1. Jeff says:

    That is fantastic. I’m very happy for Morgan. It’s a great school.

Leave a Reply

