Does a Watched Pot Boil?

When I was a Senior in high school I remember rushing home from school every afternoon to check the mail.  Would the envelope from my Early Decision school be thin or fat? Fat meant I was in.  Thin was the kiss of death.

I hate getting the mail.  All I ever get is bills, bills and more bills.  Oh, also some catalogs that I really don’t read any more (I used to love catalogs back in the day before online shopping!), some junk mail (don’t kill me Daddy — my Dad used to print a lot of high end so-called “junk” mail), requests for donations (sorry but I’m saving for college!).

I never get the mail.  My husband gets it.  He likes getting the mail.  He likes the catalogs and magazines and he gets things from his insurance company and other work-related stuff, so I have basically left that job up to him in recent months.  Not any more though!

Now my daughter and I are fighting for the mail key.  When is she going to hear from her Early Decision school? I know it’s driving her crazy, but it’s driving me crazy too! She did get into a safety, as I wrote last week, but she wants her first choice! And I want her to get into her first choice too.  She has made me promise not to open the envelope when it comes, but… I will see if it’s fat or thin, right?

It’s December 6th.  Please come today! Please! We are driving the doorman crazy every day asking him if the mail has been sorted yet.  When will we hear? December 15th? My daughter is perfect for this school.  Why can’t they just let us know now?

And just say yes! We cannot deal with being deferred or rejected.  That would just be too much to deal with.  My daughter has great grades, goes to an amazing high school, has great SATs and SAT2s and fabulous extra-curricular experience.  So…

Where is that acceptance package?

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Does a Watched Pot Boil?

  1. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing some research on that.And he just bought me lunch since I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

  2. I just added this weblog to my rss reader, great stuff. Can not get enough!

  3. I adore the commentary on this web site, it really gives it that community feel!

Leave a Reply

