Who Cares About the One Percent?

I am so sick and tired of hearing about the one percent who buy everything, own everything, and control everything.  One percent people! Let’s talk about the other ninety-nine percent for a change.

Occupy Wall Street? Give me a break.  There are so few people out there fighting the cause compared to the numbers who are effected by it. 

Our country spends way too much time heralding the one percent.  Every week in the Sunday New York Times Real Estate section I read about The Big Deal of the week.  Fiftteen million dollars.  Thirty million dollars.  Twenty-three million dollars.  Give me a friggin break already.  Let’s talk about the smallest deals of the week.  Let’s write and read about the poorest people who were actually able to buy or rent a home this week.  Let’s write or talk about the richest people who were turned down for rentals or mortgages or by co-op or condo boards this week because they weren’t rich “enough”.  There are so many more of these to focus on.  We need to educate the world on the truth, the real truth, the way most of us are actually living our lives.

I am a real estate agent.  I see what people are going through every day.  Do you know that people who earn several hundred thousand dollars a year can be turned down for rentals that cost $5,000 a month? Do you know that co-op boards turn down people who would have three million dollars in the bank, after closing, for apartments that cost two million dollars? These stories are a lot more interesting, I think, than those of the one percent who plopped down another twenty-eight million dollars on a city pied-a-terre this week, all cash.  But who are we reading about? The latter, not the former.

In New York City, people who would be rich in other places are barely making it.  So why are the restaurants so crowded, especially the very elite and expensive ones? Last Saturday night we went out to dinner with a friend and were told there was a one hour wait at one Soho restaurant, and… get ready for this one… a three hour and forty-five minute wait at another.  This was at 8:15! I don’t know about you, but by midnight I’m sort of “over” waiting to eat.  Where are all these people coming from?

I would like to interview a lot of the people I see every day.  How can they afford to eat a fifteen dollar sandwich at Katz’s Delicatessen? Add the fries, the pickles, the soda, the cole slaw, and you are talking thirty-five dollars for a no-frills lunch.  How can the large families we see every weekend afford to go to the movies at about fifteen dollars a pop, not to mention sodas, big tubs of popcorn, candy, hotdogs and ice cream? A family outing to the movies can easily set you back $125.  That’s for a 2 hour movie!

And what about Disney World and other family vacations? I would like to speak to these people about how they are affording all of this.  Are they just maxing out their credit cards? I don’t understand it.

I would like to hear more from the ninety-fifth to ninety-eighth percent.  I would like to read more about the sixty to seventy percent.  Maybe our problems are worse because we do nothing but esteem the one percent, making everyone else feel unsuccessful, unfulfilled, entitled to more?

We need to work to get ahead.  Work in school.  Work at our jobs.  Spend wisely.  Stay within our means.  Screw the one percent already.  Let’s hear from everyone else.

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Who Cares About the One Percent?

  1. You realize being able to rent a 2 Million dollar home or buy one is still the one percent right? My budget for all things monthly is 600 USD> That means food, clothing (right well I just forgo buying new clothing), catfood (Yes I still have pets), medication, transportation, utilities and rent has to fit into that. SO i live in a ghetto. Four hundred dollars for rent, sixty for my cellphone (which has saved my life and is worth it when the landlines are down every other day), one hundred for electric in summer and fourty in winter and the rest of the utilities in my rent due to a stroke of luck. Then fourty for food, and anything left I get myself a doll or something to bolster my spirits. A friend pays my net bill since this is our primary way of communication.

    I cannot just get a job, I am disabled and unlike a lot of my compatriots with disabilities working would literally kill me thus I stay at home and watch the world, live my life. I do not know how people afford movies but I doubt its the same families over and over again. I am lucky enough to have a friend help me with my net bill. It;s thirty dollars. If I ever had enough to actually make ends meet, I suppose I would just have a hundred dollars more or so? I am unsure.

    I tire of the one percent. I do not watch movies, I own no TV for one, Just watch them on my computer. Which by the by is not new, or shiny. Its refurbished through my own handiwork. Everything I have which has not been sold off is worth only a little to others but it is mine. I have what I need, as long as I do not eat more than once a day, less is preferable. If I could manage without electricity, I would do better. Or heat in winter. I could save a bundle by subsisting on air.

    Movies allow people to escape. I got to go to the theatre as a friend took me recently. It was a lovely adventure, but I will likely not go again until next year or the year after. Most people that I know, albeit not in New york, are not watching movies every weekend especially with a lot of children. Unless its on a local broadcast network and they managed to afford a converter box.

    I would love to live in an area not full of gang violence, I would love to live with enough to eat. I do not get that luxury. While I do not agree with everything that this movement has to say, I am not ignorant of the fact that I am at the polar extreme. whining about what others do my dear stranger on the internet, does nothing to change that. Do you hunger? Do you thirst? Do you not bleed?

    We do. I will never be in the one percent. I was not born lucky enough to be able to power through my poor health and bad parenting. I didn;t win the genetic lotto, or have the right timing to be a superstar or Bill Gates. This does not mean I do not at times enjoy taking a day off from struggling and sharing in a spectacular moment of imagination. I do not go out to eat personally, so I cannot comment there.

    Why not look at your own life and what YOU do instead of sitting in judgement of others in order to defend oppression?

    • mallorylayne says:

      Thanks for your comments. I was not, however, judging anybody. Quite the contrary. Note that the Occupy Wall Street protestors, for the most part, are closer to the one percent than you would think.

      • I think the Occupy group is a segment of each area of the population but those who have more can afford to sit in the streets longer. Not everyone can risk a single arrest, not everyone can risk not working even if itis seasonal work or McDonalds. Be it for their health, their children, or even out of fear of being in such a large group which has not been crime free (that would be impossible) you are not wrong in saying most of them have privilege. The problem is that that one percent at the top isn’t all the money and there is still a middle class. Its just gotten poorer. Those of us who are trapped in poverty and will always be trapped in poverty have had these complaints for a lot longer. It takes the threat to the middle class to be a real threat. That is a facet of the many privileges.

Leave a Reply

