What Does My Dream Mean?

As a Psychology major in college and grad school I studied dream interpretation a bit.  Part of my fascination with dreams came from the fact that I have always remembered my dreams and often been amazed by their absurdity.

Last night I dreamt that I was at the very end of my pregnancy, though I hadn’t realized that I was pregnant.  I actually gave birth myself, at home, and found myself holding a baby girl, who was, thankfully, breathing.  I was pretty excited, until…

The baby girl immediately began to grow.  Soon she was bigger than me by several inches and many pounds.  She needed clothing, and I commented that I was glad I hadn’t known I was pregnant because anything I would have bought for her would not have fit.  She walked.  She talked.  She smoked cigarettes. 

So much for enjoying those precious infant moments.  My infant became an adult within moments of birth.  No yummy baby head smell for this Mom.  No holding my new little bundle of joy and feeding her in the middle of the night.  No cuddling with my little baby and singing to her before she realized that I can’t sing at all.

So, what does this dream mean?

The key to dream interpretation, I learned long ago, is what your dream means to you.  For me, this one was a no brainer.

My daughter is applying to colleges right now.  She applied Early Decision, so we could have an answer as early as December 15th.  I adore my daughter.  Giving birth to her was a pure miracle for me: it was as if I was the only woman to have ever given birth to a perfect little baby.  I loved having an infant, a baby, a toddler.  I love being a mother.  Now my daughter drives herself to school every morning.  She doesn’t want to cuddle any more (at least not with me!).  Soon she will be leaving for college. 

That little baby who turned into a woman in my dream was my daughter in disguise.  She signified the quickness of my daughter’s journey to young womanhood, and the almost end of my life as her at-home-every-day-mother (exagerrated, but you know what I mean parents, right?).  It is incredible how quickly time passes.  Try to enjoy every day.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

