“Larry Crowne” Movie Review, “Margin Call” Too

Last night my daughter and I cuddled up in bed and watched “Larry Crowne” On Demand.  I had wanted to see it in the theatres, but never got around to it.  After seeing it I’m glad I saved the money. 

I love Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts, but I felt that they were both miscast in their roles (particularly Julia Roberts).  It is hard to believe that a gorgeous, beautifully dressed, talented young woman would be teaching the most unpopular class at a Community College, which is the role that Roberts plays.  Hanks, as a Wal-Mart employee who has been fired because he doesn’t have a college education, is also implausible, especially as his character unfolds and we find that he is talented at virtually everything he does.

Having said all of this, though, the movie was entertaining overall.  If you want to cuddle up and spend under two hours watching an unimportant movie, check it out.  I definitely preferred it to “Margin Call”, which my husband and I rented earlier this week.  “Margin Call” didn’t feel like a movie — it was more of a documentary disguised as a movie.  It was the same story that we have read and discussed over and over again.  Corrupt banks.  Scapegoats.  Demi Moore must have really needed a part to be in this movie, because she wasn’t good, the role was uninspiring, and she looked awful (and I am a huge Demi fan!). The rest of the cast was great though, especially Kevin Spacey and Jeremy Irons.  The film was so fair-to-middling that it’s hard to believe that the cast was so inspired, but I guess it all depends upon the paycheck at the end of the day.

Right?

Just ask the protestors at Occupy Wall Street.

“Larry Crowne” – half a thumb up for each of us.  “Margin Call” – no thumbs up.

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

