Twelve Lonely Socks

Today I found twelve lonely socks sitting on top of my dryer.  Twelve socks, each without a mate.

How does this happen I ask you? I have written about this before.  Am I missing twelve pairs of underwear too, and twelve shirts, but I just don’t realize it because they don’t have missing mates? Or is it just a sock confederacy?

Come on now! Where do the other socks go? They aren’t on the floor, under the dryer.  Is the dryer eating them for fuel, the Bounce strips I put in not enough to sustain it?

I don’t get it.

Is there a sock country club somewhere, and all the unhappy socks escape through our dryers, meeting up and dancing around together, looking for spouses that look just like them?

Does anybody know where I can buy a lot of cheap socks? We are going broke down here in Soho.  Every summer I buy twenty pairs of socks for my son before he leaves for camp.  Every summer he comes home with about eighteen socks, many unmatching. 

I think I’m going to open a sock company.  Surely the owners of these are among the richest people on the planet.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Twelve Lonely Socks

  1. Liz glass says:

    You must visit http://www.snapsoxx.com!!!! We’re putting an end to the infamous sock monster once and for all. You simply snap your socks together after wearing, toss them in the washer and dryer and then right into your sock drawer. You can’t even feel the snap when wearing and the snaps are color coordinated so you can barely see them. Check out the site when you have a chance. We offer a 100% money back guarantee ~~ They make great gifts!

Leave a Reply

