My Three Men

There are three men who have changed my life, all for the better.  As Thanksgiving approaches I would like to pay homage to each.

1) My Dad.  He brought me into this world, and taught me to enjoy each day to its fullest, because it could be my last.  It was difficult to understand this as a child, but with every passing day the truth of this becomes more and more apparent.  You only live once.  Make the most of it.

My Dad taught me to be honest, and to be kind whenever possible — to treat others the way that I would hope to be treated.

My Dad showed me how a man should treat a woman.  He showered my Mom with love every single day.  He opened doors, pulled out chairs, helped her on and off with her coats.  My Dad loves women and appreciates them, and watching him helped provide me with the standards of what I was looking for in a man, which did not prove easy to find!

My Dad taught me the value of a dollar, and that they call it “work” for a reason.

Daddy, I love you madly.  I am so lucky to have you as my father.  You are generous, beautiful, loving, smart, and honest.  You are truly a role model.

2) My Son.  My Son was born the most beautiful little infant boy I have ever seen.  Over the past fifteen years he has continued to grow into a beautiful baby, toddler, little boy, and now a young man to be proud of.

Son, you are loving and sweet.  You know what compassion is.  You are smart and well mannered.  You are beautiful inside and out.  You know how to work hard, and you have the brains to be whatever you want to be.

You make me laugh.  You are wonderful company.  I love to travel with you.  You calm me down when nobody else can.  I love to listen to you sing, to watch you dance, to see what an incredible young man you are becoming. 

I am proud of you every day.  I love you madly.  I am here for you always.  I am excited to watch as the story of your life continues to unfold.

3) My Husband.  It took me forty-seven years to meet you, fifty to marry you.  You are the man of my dreams, really and truly.  You complete me.

I love going to sleep beside you every single night.  I love waking up in the middle of the night, only to realize that you are still here, really and truly, my husband. 

You are beautiful to look at.  I could stare at you all day and night.  I am proud to be with you, to be connected to you, to be married to you.  You smell good.  You feel good.  You are good, through and through.

You are a wonderful role model for my children.  You have a great work ethic and a solid head on your shoulders.  You are smart and talented.  You’re a great family guy, as shown by your love for your parents and children.

I love to do everything with you.  You are my best friend.  I promise to love you forever and ever.  You complete me.

Dad, Son, and Husband, you are the three men who have changed my life.  You have all made me the luckiest woman in the world, from childhood, to motherhood, to wifehood (probably not a word at all). 

And, to my Daughter… you’re next!

 

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

