Why Road Trips Rock

Yesterday I took a road trip with my children.  We went to New Jersey to visit an old friend of ours from the Hamptons.  He had moved to Florida and just recently returned to the Northeast. 

Here were the highlights of the road trip:

1. My daughter drove both ways.  It’s so nice to sit back and relax now and not have to focus on the road the whole time.  And, she finally drives well enough that I don’t feel like I need a frozen margarita when we get out of the car.

2. Singing.  My son soloed, which I found hysterical, and my daughter found horrifying.  She was almost in tears and I could not stop laughing.  Then we all sang.  Then I sang alone.  Singing is amazing, especially when you stink at it but nobody cares.

3. Finding new songs to buy.  Here is what we found yesterday:

“Today”, by the Smashing Pumpkins,

“6 Underground” by the Sneaker Pimps,

“Get Some” by Lykke Li (sounds like Likely, as my daughter intelligently pointed out),

and

Fatboy Slim, “Praise You”.

You will love all of these songs… I just know it.  I just bought all four on I-tunes.  Listening to them makes me want to get back into the car to listen to some more Sirius radio.

Drive on brothers and sisters.

4. Seeing our friend again of course!

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Road Trips Rock

  1. I too love road trips, even when it is only me and a great selection of music. And speaking of, I actually find someone my age who has great tastes in music! I love being a baby boomer, but most of my friends are not as adventurous in their musical tastes – loved the post!

Leave a Reply

