I Feel Good: Surviving Day 1 of Jewish Lent, Take 2

I woke up this morning feeling wonderful.  No sleep interruptions, no headache, no yucky taste in the back of my mouth.

I survived Day 1 of Jewish Lent, Take 2.  Don’t forget though, that I survived Day 1 last time also, only to fail at dinner on Day 2. 

Good news — we went to a party last night which was filled with alcohol everywhere you looked.  What did I drink? Club soda.  The first with lime, the second with lemon.  I preferred the second, but both were refreshing and surprisingly delicious.

My son is supporting my decision.  “It’s interesting to test your body,” he commented when I mentioned Jewish Lent to him last night. 

He’s right.  I don’t think I’ve ever gone thirty days without a drink, unless you count pregnancy, and that was just an out of body experience altogether for me, both times… nauseous every day, watching my body reshape itself in ways that I never imagined possible… though of course the end result was more than worth it both times, and I wish I had done it a third. 

Well, if Day 2 is any indication, I feel good! Really good! We are heading down to the gym now to workout with our trainer.  I have a lot of energy.  I almost feel like I could run the marathon tomorrow.

Oh, and speaking of the marathon, tomorrow is going to be especially grueling since the clocks are falling back tonight.  That means a 10:20 a.m. start for runners like me will actually be 11:20 to our body’s natural clocks.  I would have fainted for sure.  Good think I decided to take the year off.  If this Jewish Lent thing works, though, I have a feeling you’ll see me running a marathon very soon.

Jewish Lent, Take 2: one day down, twenty nine days to go.

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

