Why I Am Not Running the NYC Marathon on Sunday

The NYC marathon is this Sunday, November 6th.  The weather is forecasted to be perfect for a 26.2 mile run — cool, dry.  Over 45,000 people are running this year.  I think it’s the largest marathon in the world.  I know it’s one of the largest.

This is why I am not running the NYC marathon on Sunday:

1. It’s 26.2 miles.  That’s pretty far.

2. It’s one of the biggest marathons in the world and I am claustrophic.  The last time I ran NYC (two years ago) I think there were 10,000 fewer runners, and I couldn’t deal with the crowds even then.

3. I don’t like to be cold, and waiting over on Staten Island for hours and hours before the race is always very unpleasant for me because I am always freezing.  What other people consider “ideal” running weather is arctic to me.  I need to wear ear coverings when it dips below 60 degrees.

4. I don’t like port-a-potties.  Runner’s port-a-potties are particularly disgusting.  If you are a racer you will know exactly what I mean.  I will not elaborate any further.

5. Lack of training.  When I run a marathon I train for almost six months.  Right now I would be lucky to finish a half marathon.

6. I don’t want to faint.  I have fainted after the marathon and almost fainted before it.  The past few months have been faint-free, since I was diagnosed with vasovagal syncope.  Not fainting is a good thing for me and running very long distances increases my chances of losing consciousness.

7. My husband didn’t want to do it.  This is kind of a lame excuse because he didn’t want to do it two years ago either and ended up running a lot better than I did on race day.  His lack of enthusiasm enabled me to blow it off easily though;

8. I’m old.  Fifty to be exact.  Actually, maybe that’s a better reason to run than not to run but it sounds good.  “I’m too old.”  If my son wants to run a marathon though I have promised that I would run his first with him.  “Your first and my last,” I have told him for years;

9. Boredom.  I am tired of running up and down the Hudson River for two or three hours a day, week after week.  I need some new scenary.  If I lived in L.A., now that might be a different story.  Even with my updated music supply I can only bear the same sights for so long.

10. I have other things to fill my time now.  When I started training for marathons eleven years ago there was a big void in my life.  My marriage was dissolving, my children were eventually spending time away from me with their dad, I was not in a relationship.  Running became a very good focus for me — a healthy outlet.  Right now I’m busy with my children, my new husband, friends, family and work.  An hour a day of exercise is enough for me right now.

Okay, okay.  I have said I am done with marathons but that may not be true.  It’s never too late to train again, right? At the moment I am enjoying short runs, working out with my trainer, the occasional yoga class, and a lot of time at the gym.  The truth is that I like to race, and I like the discipline and rigor that comes with the training.  Over the past few years my marathon times were slowing down rather than speeding up and I was feeling discouraged, but, you never know… maybe as an over -50 runner I will start racing again more frequently and rank better again in my age category (you always have the edge at the beginning of the decade!) and perhaps I will be encouraged to train again.  And again.  And again.

Or maybe not.

 

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

