Jewish Lent – Take Two

Some of you may remember that last February I tried to stop drinking for forty days last year.  Jewish Lent for me.  I am not an alcoholic, but drinking alcohol (especially and almost exclusivly wine) definitely plays a central role in my social life.

Well, I’ve had enough.  Last night I went to an amazing  wine and food event, attended by many of my wine loving friends.  This morning I am tired.  I’m tired of being tired.  I want to wake up fresh, rejuvenated, ready to lace up my sneakers and go for a long run.  Instead I feel like sitting on the reclining bike and pedalling slowly, oh so slowly.  Actually I feel like lying in bed with the lights off but that isn’t really an option as I’m in the middle of a couple of deals at work (yay!).

So, how did my first attempt at Jewish Lent end? I stopped drinking for two days and one night.  On the second night I met my play playing buddy and I told him that I was not drinking.  As soon as he ordered I drink I followed along.  Weak! Weak! One night? I’m sorry but that is truly pathetic.  I know that I can do better.

What is Lent anyway? I am Jewish so I’m not totally clear, but I know people who abstain from things that they enjoy a lot during Lent, and I think they do it for thirty or forty days.  Wait, let me google it — I will be right back.

Okay, I’m back, bagel in hand (need to soak up all that good red wine I drank last night).  Yes, Lent is in fact forty days.  I just told my husband that I am going to stop drinking for thirty days… what do you think? I think maybe if I set my goal a little bit lower I will be more successful than I was last time… so I will officially name Jewish Lent to be thirty days, commencing on Friday November 4th and ending on Sunday December 4th (convenient that November has exactly thirty days… it makes calculating so easy).

Wish me luck.  I have been known to be strong, but I have also been known to be weak. 

Day One of Jewish Lent at 9:55 a.m.  I have not had a drink all day so I’m off to an excellent start.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

