Is an Hour of Sleep Worth an Hour of Darkness?

The clocks “fall behind” this weekend, once again.  What I am wondering is:

When is this antiquated ritual ever going to end?

We don’t need the extra hour of morning light any more.  We are no longer farmers (at least most of us, though with the way the economy is going you never know…).  We need light in the late afternoon and evening, when we are coming home from work, when our children are coming home from afterschool sports and clubs.

A lot of people will be cheering for an extra hour of sleep this weekend, but not me.  I will be down in my storage unit, searching for my Happy Light once again.  He has been on hiatus for the “lighter” months, and I’m not sure that he’s going to be happy to see me.  He’s ugly on my desk – somebody needs to design a modern, sleek Happy Light.  Hmmm… maybe that’s a good project for me…

Well anyway, enjoy your extra hour of sleep.  You may need it to stave off the depression (ever heard of S.A.D.?) that is sure to follow.

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

