Bigger, Better, Faster, Smaller

I remember my parents waking me up when I was in junior high school to surprise me with a black and white television for my own room.  It was a Panasonic and was yellow lucite.  It was beautiful! It matched my newly decorated room, which was white, yellow and silver.

It was the best gift I had ever received.

Back then I never imagined that there would be color t.v. sets everywhere, computers in every room and every backpack, cell phones, and smart phones and I-pads and I-pods and on and on and on.

As I sat beside my daughter this morning on her way to school (she drives me now!), there was a huge line wrapping around the Apple store on Prince Street in Soho.

“I guess the new I-phone came out today,” I said.

“Yup,” she agreed.

“Those people don’t look like they can afford a new phone,” she contined.  “In fact, many of them look homeless.”

She was right.

This country is so poor right now, with one percent of the population controlling almost half the wealth.  Why does every struggling student and adult feel that they need this newest I-phone 4S? Why do we really need most of this stuff to be honest? Do we really need to tell our I-phone to wake us at 7 a.m. rather than just setting the alarm ourselves?

Please…

My I-pod broke recently so I had to get a new one.  My husband picked it up for me at the store, and when I saw it I was shocked.  It is tiny! Way too tiny in fact.  It is so small that I am pretty sure I will lose it.  It is so small that I almost need reading glasses in order to see the screen.  It is too small.

I don’t want such a small I-pod.  I don’t want to talk to my I-phone.  I don’t want to have to buy my son a new computer this weekend but his Apple is now outdated according to the store, and we need to replace it.  It seems like everything is built to last until the warranty expires and then it breaks within a month, leaving us needing to buy something else, and then something else, and then something else.

I liked my hardcover books.  When I read a book on my kindle now and want to share it with my children or my friends I have to buy another copy.  I liked passing books on to people. 

I liked waiting for my photos to come back from the developer and then putting them in an album.  Where do all of our photos go now once we have gotten a new phone or a new computer? Will our children have photos to look back on one day or is that just a thing of the past?

I am definitely getting old.  Either that or the world is passing me by.  I want to press “Pause” for a little while and catch my breath.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bigger, Better, Faster, Smaller

  1. Greetings! I’ve been reading your web site for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the fantastic work!

  2. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

