Looking for an Apartment? I Have It.

I sell real estate.  I bought my current apartment while I was showing a new building to a friend/client of mine years ago.  The building was not yet under construction, and I bought it off of a floor plan.  This is a very good thing to do.  Why? Because you pay less, or at least you should.  Not everyone can visualize a space without seeing it completed, and if you are willing to step out on a limb, and also usually wait a year or two, you can do very well for yourself.

New construction in Manhattan has been very scarce over the past couple of years.  As apartment prices skyrocked, developers found themselves spending more and more for building sites, and prices got out of control.  Before long we began to see new buildings sitting unfinished, unsold, converting to rentals. 

As prices have started to level out again, some new construction has resumed.  We are seeing about ten new projects a year now compared with well over a hundred four or five years ago.

Anyway… I found the perfect new building.  I showed it to some of my favorite customers last weekend.  The location is good, if you like downtown.  The finishes are beautiful, if you don’t care about medicine cabinets (why would a developer cheap out on medicine cabinets of all things?), the amenities are fabulous (think children, think swimming), the ceilings are high, the views are spectacular.

They are selling quickly.  There aren’t very many.  Where is it? I’m not telling.  If you want to live here let me know and I will take you over.  I have to start paying for college next year or I would send you on your own.

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

