Speed Dialing for Dinner

I am allergic to restaurants where you have to make a reservation at a certain time or end up eating at 5:30 or 10:30 p.m. (neither of which I will do).  I don’t like to plan way ahead.  Who knows what you are going to feel like having for dinner on September 20th, for example? It’s only August 20th today.

I don’t like waiting either.  If a restaurant has a line around the block I will go elsewhere.  Eggs are eggs, right? This unwillingness to wait patiently has led to me cooking a lot of breakfasts at home… like every day.  Who needs to pay for toast and eggs? They are two of the easiest things to make on the entire planet.  My daughter could scramble with the best of them when she was six years old.

Same with the movies.  Thank goodness for Fandango.  I am not getting shut out of a movie after rushing to a theatre (particularly if I have paid for a cab or driven around aimlessly before finding a parking spot).  So I buy my tickets first, arrive right before showtime, and then I sit up front.  Who cares really? Once you get your neck propped up just right it really doesn’t make that much of a difference.  It certainly beats getting to the theatre an hour early to secure a better seat while risking the very real possibility of having no popcorn left by the time the previews begin.

But I digress…

Last night everyone wanted to eat at Dave’s Grill in Montauk.  I know, from a friend of mine, that you have to begin speed dialing at 4:15 in order to get a reservation for the same night.  We watched her (and actually helped her) secure a reservation there several months ago.  So, at 4:12 we started calling.  Four of us.  Too early.  Two of us got the taped message to call back beginning at 4:15.  Hopeful ringing.   Disappointing message.

But we persevered.  Four frantic dialers.  Four people willing to call and call and call in order to eat at Dave’s Grill.  It’s a seafood place way out in Montauk.  And I mean way out… the drive home felt like forever.

“What am I doing?” I thought, as I dialed for the 24th time.  “I hate making reservations.”

I hit the jackpot on call number 56.  Multiply that by four, and we made over 200 calls to get a reservation.  7:30.  Party of 4.  Just like that.  Bingo! (And speaking of bingo, check out Ruschmeyer’s in Montauk for their Bingo Party on Thursday nights.)

It was really good too.  We totally recommend it.  The appetizers and desserts surpassed the entrees, so consider making a meal of a few small plates rather than one entree.  And don’t pass up the Mounds Chocolate Bag.  Really.  Just think about the name.  It’s even better than it sounds.

The Chopped Salad was delicious, with nice touches including a little feta and some sweet corn.  The Mussels were yummy… the tiniest little mussels I’ve ever seen.  They were displayed face up on a big plate – no need to dig around in saucy sauce for these babies.

The table wait was only five minutes (much less than the reservation time).  The service was great.  The food was pretty darn good.

So, unless your finger is in a splint, set your I-phone alarm to 4:12 p.m. (to get ready) and start dialing.  You just may be one of the lucky ones tonight.

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

