Goodbye New York City!

The longer I live here, the more I think that city life is for the birds (and I don’t mean that in a good way). 

It’s dirty.  It’s smelly.  The people are angry.  It’s expensive.  It’s hard to find a parking spot.  There’s road rage, and even bicycle rage (don’t even get me started on the bike rage again!).

Tomorrow morning we leave for the Hamptons.  We won’t be back until Labor Day.  I’m so excited to get out of this city!

Last night we went to a party at a country club on Long Island.  I’m not suggesting that I want to live on Long Island again, but it was fun.  In fact, anything is seeming fun right now if it isn’t in the city.

I want to drive places.  I want to be able to go to the Farmer’s Market every week, twelve months a year.  I want to ride my bike every day, and run outside.  I’m tired of being in the gym because it’s either:

Too cold,

Too hot,

Snowy,

Windy,

Rainy, or

Icy 

Outside.

I want to see the ocean on a regular basis.

I want a simpler life.

Growing corn, raising puppies, riding my donkey… (just kidding on all of those, but I couldn’t resist).

Yes, there is attitude in the Hamptons for sure for sure, but I don’t care.  We will have a yard outside our door, and our dog can run free.  We will see the ocean every day.  We will barbecue outside, and relax with friends and family.  We will shop for fresh corn and peaches and mozzarella cheese.  We will buy our flowers from local merchants.  We will exercise all the time and eat healthy foods. 

There has to be something to be said for escaping from the rat race for at least a short time.  Wake up and smell the coffee, and the roses, and the fresh sea air.  Appreciate the sunset every night, so beautiful above the cornfields.  It isn’t every year that we can take the time to leave the city and really relax.  I am going to revel in every single minute.

I’ll see you in September.

Unless you’re out East.  Then I’ll see you tomorrow…

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

