The World Keeps Getting Smaller

Fourteen summers ago my ex-husband and I rented a cabana in Atlantic Beach.  With a three year old and a one year old we thought it would be easier to do day trips then to go out to the Hamptons every weekend, or any weekend house for that matter.  We were both working full-time in the city, and long weekends were out of the question.

We met the nicest family at our beach club and became fast friends.  They had a son the same age as our son, and a daughter one year older than our daughter.  We loved them and hung out together all summer.

At summer’s end, we decided to go back out to the Hamptons, and they moved to Long Island and bought a boat.  We drifted apart, both literally and figuratively.

So, imagine my surprise when I was chatting with a family from Long Island on day nine of our twelve day cruise this month and realized that they were our long lost friends from Atlantic Beach.  On a small cruise, we had undoubtedly crossed paths time and again for the first nine days.  I had met their children the first night and spoke to them often, but the nineteen year old young woman and the tall, striking fifteen year old boy did not in any way strike a bell in my rapidly aging brain. 

I love them again! I don’t know why we ever stopped spending time together.  My boyfriend and I are going out to Long Island tonight to a party that they invited us to at their country club.  They are the same beautiful, smart, loving, fun people that I enjoyed spending time with so many years ago, and now I have found them again.

This time I’m not going to let them go.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

