Addiction and Fame Take Another Life – the Death of Amy Winehouse

I remember hearing “Back to Black” for the first time.  It was hard to believe that the powerful, sultry, sexy voice I was hearing was coming from a tiny little white woman, more of a girl really.  Boy could she sing!

“You Know I’m No Good” she sang.  What was she telling us?

Clearly Amy Winehouse was riddled with a terrible drug and alcohol addiction.  But, would she be able to fight her demons and continue to thrive, entertaining millions of listeners? Not for long enough.

So sad.  Another brilliant musician dies an untimely death due to an illness that cannot be contained.  Janis Joplin.  Jim Morrison.  Kurt Cobain.  So many wonderful talents met with early deaths due to their addictions.  Yes, I know that Amy Winehouse’s autopsy was inconclusive, but surely her years of alcohol and drug abuse at least contributed to her untimely death, don’t you think?

I listen to her gorgeous voice as I write this, and I am saddened by the loss of her.  I was sad to see her faltering on stage recently, but still not ready to hear of her death while I was floating in paradise on the Mediterranean.  Only now am I really feeling the impact.

Parents, lovers, friends… please help those close to you who are struggling with addiction.  Look at Robert Downey, Jr.  I never thought that he would be alive and thriving today, yet he is.  He is a devoted father, a loving husband to a gorgeous and talented wife, a fantastic actor.  Let’s celebrate more successes and hear of fewer funerals.

Amy, you will be missed.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

