Raoul’s… it still rules (rhyme, rhyme)

Raoul’s has been open since the mid-1970’s.  I have been eating there since the early 1980’s, right after I graduated from grad school.  It was always one of everyone’s favorite date places, and last night I had the best date ever there… with my boyfriend.

“Let’s walk over to Raoul’s and eat at the bar,” he suggested.

I was game.  I love Raoul’s.  I love my boyfriend.  It was a gorgeous night.  What could be bad?

The bar was full when we arrived, but we got a cozy booth.  We sat side by side, drinking delicious red wine by the glass and sharing an artichoke (always a Raoul’s fave), and some other delicious things (including french fries, of course, which I must stop eating!). 

Some of the “old faithfuls” don’t always prove to be faithful, but Raoul’s always does.  They don’t rush you, like The Odeon does.  They always remember you, even if you haven’t been there in months.  The fish tank remains.  It is so cool when a great neighborhood place continues to flourish.  If it isn’t there already, add it to your list.

Two very enthusiastic thumbs up.

 

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

