Another Rite of Passage, and Do We Really Live in a Modern World?

Today my fifteen year old son is leaving for a month in Europe to play tournament tennis and explore Spain, France and Holland.  I have been shopping and packing for days! He is the sweetest, nicest boy in the world and I am going to miss him madly, but I know that he is going to have the time of his life.

Did you know that Verizon I-phones don’t work in Europe? Now we have rented an international cell phone, and I’m still trying to figure out how to program it so that he will be able to call home at least once over the next month.

Next week my boyfriend and I leave for two weeks in Turkey and Greece and guess what? My Verizon I-phone is a “no go” there too, so I am freaking out.  How am I going to answer the five hundred work emails I get a day? How am I going to get in touch with my children?

In this day and age, wouldn’t you think that we could email/text/call from anywhere? Frankly, I am stunned, and not in a good way.  People are saying, “It’s great.  You will truly unwind.” Wrong! I am a mother and a real estate agent.  How can I relax if I am completely out of touch with the world I come from? Really? What if my children need me? What if somebody wants to buy a ten million dollar apartment?

The world confuses me.  How can we have the internet, with access to anything we want to know, but not be able to make an international phone call from our Verizon I-phone without paying a ridiculous amount of money?

How can we find a cure for AIDS (more or less) but not be able to easily and cheaply email from our computers from a cruise ship? Hmmm… I guess I shouldn’t be so surprised based on the fact that we had no cell or text service up in Woodstock last weekend either.  Remember? Come on inventors! Find a way to power us up wherever we go.  Now that we’re used to communicating with each other every minute we are not comfortable being so shut off.  Can you figure something out before next Friday please?

 

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Rite of Passage, and Do We Really Live in a Modern World?

  1. jeff says:

    the iphone does work, but you have to find a wifi network/hot spot. your hotels should have them. just don’t leave your wifi, or your phone for that matter, on until you need it or you’ll be killed over roaming fees.

    Going to Southern Spain for 21/2 weeks at the end of the month.

    Enjoy Turkey and Greece. It will be nice and hot for you.

    • mallorylayne says:

      We are going to be on a cruise and there is no wi-fi. I was told my bill would be $4,000 if I use my I-phone, so I rented an international cell phone. Do you have Verizon? AT&T is a lot better I think. Jack is in Europe too and I had to order him an international cell phone too. When is your wedding? Is Spain your honeymoon?

      • jeff says:

        That seems right, as your ship could not have wifi! A cruise sounds nice. We will be on the coast but that’s not the same thing.

Leave a Reply

