Living Without A Cell Phone

Where have I been? We were up in Woodstock with friends, staying at their gorgeous home way up high in the mountains.  And guess what? There was no cell service!

No phone calls.

No text messages.

Barely any emails.

Even their land line was a static-y mess.

Spending two days away from some of the technology that we have become so accustomed to, so reliant upon, was similar to an anthropological study.  And I will tell you this… I did not like it!

My daughter is in L.A. and I couldn’t get in touch with her.

I was in the middle of a business deal (selling an apartment up on the High Line, my favorite new part of town), and couldn’t communicate with the sponsor or my buyer.

My son was with us so I didn’t have to stress about him…

But… it was weird, truly, to feel so cut-off from the world.

We would turn our I-phones on and off twenty times a day, thinking that maybe all of our missing calls and texts would come flooding in, but they didn’t.

I remember when I was in my late teens and early twenties and we would rush home to check our answering machines and see who had (or hadn’t) called.  And today, I can barely live without my cell phone for two days.

I liked it better the other way.

 

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

