Turning Enemies into Friends

There have been a few women in my life with whom my relationships have been rocky, to say the least.  As a younger woman I really didn’t experience these sorts of situations, but as life as evolved and become more and more complicated with relationships, in-laws, children, other people’s children, etc., etc., I have found myself in some very negative places.

This negativity is incredibly debilitating.  The amount of time spent thinking about it, reeling from the insults received, coming up with ways to cleverly retaliate, can be all-consuming in a terrible way.

I have recently come to terms with an old friend with whom I have shared one of these rocky, painful relationships.  This morning she sent me the following meditation that I wanted to share:

“Hatred is a passion requiring one hundred times the energy of love.  Keep it for a cause, not an individual.  Keep it for intolerance, injustice, stupidity.” 

There is more, but this is the part I particularly loved.  Thanks sister for sharing this with me! I feel ten pounds lighter since you and I have found peace together.  Let’s be sure that we do not slip back into that bad place where we have found ourselves in the past.

The quote ended as follows:

“This is the day we are given; Let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

Now that is my mantra.  I woke up this morning.  I could have slept forever, never knowing that I was gone.  But I am here, and I am going to make the most of this day that I was blessed with. 

How about you?

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Turning Enemies into Friends

  1. I love that quote so much. It’s a perfect summation why I gave up hating my dad, wishing him ill, or even thinking much of him beyond hoping he is no longer the guy he used to be. (I may have forgiven him, but I’m still not quite ready to apply the term “man” to him!) It just takes so much more effort to be angry and hateful. I’d rather take all of that energy and leave the world a little brighter than when I came into it.

    • mallorylayne says:

      Yes, hatred is a disease that keeps us up at night and pervades our dreams even as we sleep. It isn’t always easy, but burying the hatchet is definitely the way to go whenever possible.

  2. Susan H says:

    Hatred keeps us up at night an less productive. It is unfortuante that women’s relationships are so complicated. You and your friend have a lot to celebrate by making peace with eachother. I find the women who hold grudges usually have more regrets later in life. I agree hatred is for intolerance and injustice. I have the same feeling as you I feel lucky to be alive, employed at a job I love and have a husband who is good looking, smart and very loving. Those who hate can not be happy for what they have. This was well put and whenever someone gives me drama and I am going to think about this blog post.

Leave a Reply

