“U.S. of Tara” a Goner

I have been a huge “U.S. of Tara” fan since the show started three seasons ago.  My daughter loves it too, and it is one of our “bonding” shows.  Diablo Cody is a great writer and the acting is stellar.  The premise of the show is that Tara, played by the always brilliant Toni Collette, has D.I.D., a Dissociative Identity Disorder where she becomes different personas all the time.  Try being a mother with this disorder!

Sadly, the show has been cancelled.  I’m not surprised though, as the story line this third season has been weak at best, particularly around the previously amusing daughter Kate, who has lost her way and become a flight attendant.

Losing any show that stars John Corbett is depressing.  He is always so likeable, and I’ve been a fan of his since “Northern Exposure” and then as Carrie Bradshaw’s carpenter boyfriend on “Sex and the City”.  He’s always so sensitive and adorable, and the man never seems to age! I will miss watching him every week as the devoted husband to a wife that most people would have run from long ago.

Rosemarie DeWitt, who plays Tara’s little sister Charmaine, has also been fabulous throughout the show.  Her portrayal as a pregnant (and now post pregnant) single mom was hysterical, and I love the way the producers really portrayed what a pregnant and post birth woman looks like.  Her stomach juts out, unlike Bethenny Frankel’s, which was tummy tucked on the delivery table. 

And let’s not forget the gay teenaged son.  He was fabulous! I think we will see a lot more of Keir Gilchrist in the future (at least I hope we will).  He’s a natural.

“U.S. of Tara”, we will miss you! Another amazing Showtime show bites the dust.  Please bring us some new, current shows to take Tara’s place. Diablo Cody – get busy writing! We are waiting for more of your brilliant humor.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “U.S. of Tara” a Goner

  1. Have you seen Jennifer’s Body? I remember reading Cody’s EW article about having written a flop, which surprised me. I’d gone to see the flick with a bunch of girlfriends; we all loved it. I’m delighted she’ll be working on the Sweet Valley movie, because I’ve loved everything I’ve seen so far–even having missed U.S. of Tara!

    • mallorylayne says:

      i will have to check it out. Is Jennifer’s body a t.v. show? What network? Don’t know about Sweet Valley either but will google. Thanks!

      • Jennifer’s Body was a horror movie released right around the time I gave birth to my son–probably in July or August of ’09? I loved it, and have no doubt I’ll love the Sweet Valley movie when it’s released. Fortunately for my tastes, what Cody Diablo calls a personal flop I call a blast. 🙂

Leave a Reply

