Feelin’ Hot, Hot, Hot!

I love it! That hot, sticky New York City heat! Bring it on.  You will never hear me complain about the heat or humidity… I promise.  If I complain twelve months a year you will not want to read my posts any more, so I am going to write about how much I love summer and the sun and the warmth.

This morning I went for a run.  It was hot! It felt great.  There was no need to warm up my muscles, to stretch and stretch before beginning.  My muscles were warm just from stepping outside into the sunshine.

I’m so happy! I didn’t have to wear gloves.  I didn’t have to wear ear covers.  I had no need for a hood, a long-sleeved jacket or running pants.  I was just perfect in running shorts and a sleeveless running top.

Summer in the city is so great (and so is Spring when it feels like Summer!).  There are free screenings most evenings this week on one of the piers on the Hudson River near Perry Street.  They have seats lines up and a big movie screen.  USA network is hosting.  I’m not really one for going to t.v. screenings, but it looks like a nice thing to do on a warm beautiful evening if this is up your alley.

I saw some weird things today during my run.  I’ll tell you a few:

A very anorexic looking young woman exercising profusely on one of the piers.  Her skinny arms and legs were jutting out.  She looked malnourished.  I wanted to ask her if she had read Portia de Rossi’s “Unbearable Lightness” but I restrained myself.  She seemed like she was at the point in her illness where she would not be open to reading a tale of anorexia/bulemia and recovery yet.

Some gay men looking for action.  This is quite common on the piers, but it gets worse and worse as the weather improves.  The men wear less and less and they seem intent on accenuating their crotches.  I saw one in particular today that was really disgusting.  He was a short, thinnish balding man, about fifty years old.   He was wearing a little black bikini bottom, and was pushing a scooter.  When he turned towards me he was sporting an erection.  I mean really! How disgusting! I wanted to throw up.  It’s one thing when they stuff themselves and walk around, but this guy was hard.  I am getting nauseous again just thinking about it.

Yuck.  Yuck.  Double yuck.  Go home with it brother.  Nobody wants to see it.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

