Here I Am… Again

I threated to stop blogging yesterday and was overwhelmed by kind requests from family, friends, and complete strangers to keep on writing.  You have all inspired me and I appreciate your support.

My daughter’s kind words were incredible to me.  She told me that the fact that all of these people are interested in writing what I am thinking and doing every day is amazing and that I should not give up. 

And, truth be told, I missed writing it all day and night yesterday! I guess even if I look at this as a diary of sorts it is not a waste of time after all.

A prior New Yorker wrote me the kindest note, encouraging me to continue.  She said that I help her in overcoming her homesickness for the city and that she thinks I should write a book (been there, done that — any publishers out there looking for a few good stories?).

I love my blog, so it will live on…

At least until I get discouraged again.  And then I will probably take it off again and then wait for encouragement.

I was thinking about my mom early this morning as I worked out with my trainer.  I was doing an especially difficult set and I remembered watching my mother a few years ago when she began to exercise for the first time in her adult life.  She had been tripped by a harried woman with a wheelie suitcase in the Wynn hotel, and had broken her pelvis.  Physical therapy was necessary, and she hired a young female trainer at her club. 

I went down to watch my mom’s routine one morning while visiting her in Las Vegas.  She was wearing a velour tracksuit and really ugly white sneakers.  Her weights were one pound each.

“I feel the burn,” my mother told her trainer.

“I feel the burn baby.”

Long live my mom.

I feel the burn too.

And, I miss you Mommy. 

I can’t wait to see my Dad in two days.  I’m packing Dad! See you soon.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Here I Am… Again

  1. Susan H says:

    Welcome Back Mallory. Keep up the great writing. Thank you for staying on. When you cancelled I felt like my favorite TV show was canceled. Enjoy your holiday weekend with your dad. Your readers are excited to hear all about it.

    • mallorylayne says:

      Thank you Susan! You were a big part of convincing me to stay (twist my arm, right?). Will definitely blog about Vegas and my slot machine antics, dad’s girlfriend, etc.

      • Susan H says:

        Good Luck with the slot machines. I am glad I could make a difference for you. I will do it again if you ever get discouraged.

      • mallorylayne says:

        Just post me on your FB to get me a larger audience :). People are crawling out of the woodwork. A guy that used to work for my dad for 23 years just called me to say how disappointed he was that I was discontinuing. He said he looked forward to reading it every day. He’s 75! So funny! I am back to stay… for now.

  2. Susan H says:

    He called you OMG? You really make a difference in the lives of others. I am posting you on my facebook page tonight. I sent out emails already to a few friends already.

  3. Janet G says:

    Hi Mallory!

    So glad to hear you’re back to stay! I usually stay in bed on Sunday mornings and catch up on your blog.

    Have fun in Vegas!

    Take care,

    Janet

    • mallorylayne says:

      Thanks Janet!
      It makes me feel so much better to know that people are reading and enjoying my blog! I was feeling like I was writing to myself and a diminishing audience. I am totally regenerated by my readers!
      xo, Mallory

Leave a Reply

