Patience Pays, Say the Paparazzi

Yesterday morning as I drove my children down Broadway on the way to school I spotted a lot of photographers on the East side of Broadway in the Financial District.

“I guess they’re filming a movie,” I said.  My children continued to text on their Iphones.

I looked across the street to see what was going on: Nothing.

Today as I drove down Broadway I again spotted the photographers, lined up along the East side of the avenue.  I looked across the street again to see what was going on: Nothing.

“Those photographers are still there,” I said.  Today my son was reading The New York Times.  My daughter is on a class trip, probably texting on her Iphone.

What are they looking at? I wondered inwardly, since nobody was listening anyway.

And then I realized — these photographers are staking out the apartment building where the felled I.M.F. chief, Dominique Strauss-Kahn is staying, much to his neighbor’s regret.  Even in a mediocre building tenants don’t want to live among rapists and otherwise corrupt people.  Now I see why.  It is a veritable media circus outside the building.

Is a picture of Dominique Strauss-Kahn exiting his apartment building really worth all that people power (see how PC I am)? What are they going to see? He will leave the building and get into a car I would think.  Probably a plain black car. 

How much do these paparazzi get paid? I hope it’s a lot, because I can’t imagine anything worse than sitting across the street from an ugly building waiting for an ugly man to emerge.  Isn’t there something else that you could be taking pictures of? Your children perhaps?

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

