I’m Moving to Antarctica

What is worse than going out for a run on a beautiful morning and finding yourself deluged by rain when you’re all the way out? Going out for a run on a beautiful morning and finding yourself deluged by rain when you’re all the way out and you’re wearing your brand new beautiful running sneakers.

They will never be the same.

Yesterday I was dying to take a run outside, but it looked cloudy and I was worried about my sneakers.  So, for the 200th day in a row I went down to the gym, watching the seconds pass slowly, oh so slowly, on the treadmill’s clock.  I carried a giant umbrella around with me all day, all over town.

Not a drop of rain fell.

Today I took my children to school and the sun was shining.  The thermostat read 67 degrees.

I’m going out for a run, I decided.  Finally a beautiful sunny day.

Wrong.  I am freezing.  I am wet.  My sneakers are soaked and dirty looking.  I’ll probably catch pneumonia.

So, I’m moving to Antarctica.  Yes, you read that right.  I am moving to the Dry Valley in Antarctica.  Why, you ask, are you moving to Antarctica? We thought you wanted to move to Southern California, on the beach in L.A.

Well, I did a tad of research, and the Dry Valley in Antarctica gets less rainfall than any other place on earth!

I’m packing my bags as I type.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Moving to Antarctica

  1. Embrace the rain. Here’s my new favorite oldie but goodie — I was at a private event not too long ago where Neil Sedaka played his most genius song for us…

    Laughter in the Rain
    Strolling along country roads with my baby
    It starts to rain, it begins to pour
    Without an umbrella we’re soaked to the skin
    I feel a shiver run up my spine
    I feel the warmth of her hand in mine

    Oo, I hear laughter in the rain
    Walking hand in hand with the one I love
    Oo, how I love the rainy days
    And the happy way I feel inside

    After a while we run under a tree
    I turn to her and she kisses me
    There with the beat of the rain on the leaves
    Softly she breathes and I close my eyes
    Sharing our love under stormy skies

    Oo, I hear laughter in the rain
    Walking hand in hand with the one I love
    Oo, how I love the rainy days
    And the happy way I feel inside
    I feel the warmth of her hand in mine

    Oo, I hear laughter in the rain
    Walking hand in hand with the one I love
    Oo, how I love the rainy days
    And the happy way I feel inside
    Oo, I hear laughter in the rain
    Walking hand in hand with the one I love
    Oo, how I love the rainy days
    And the happy way I feel inside
    (repeat and fade)

Leave a Reply

