Can I Hold Your Baby Please?

Last night I met a complete stranger with her twins, a boy and a girl who were three and a half months old.  She was holding the boy and the girl was strapped into her stroller seat, looking around happily, sucking on her pacifier.

“Can I hold her,” I asked boldly.

“Sure,” the mom said to me, a total stranger, remember.

I unhooked the baby and picked her up.  She was happy.  I was happy.  I held her for about fifteen minutes.  She looked around.  She sucked on my pinky finger.  I gave her back her pacifier.  She looked around some more.  She smelled yummy.  She was adorable.

I gave her back.  Holding her was great, but really… I’m not a free babysitter.  That mother is crazy.  I could have grabbed her precious little baby, hopped into a waiting van, and run away with her, never to be seen again.  I am glad that I got to hold her baby, but really moms of the world: protect your little ones with your life!

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can I Hold Your Baby Please?

  1. Pre-mom me would have gone, “Aw, that’s so lovely! Sharing the baby love!” Mom me goes, “No! No! Don’t do it! Not unless you’re versed in judo and already prepared to snatch that baby back!”

Leave a Reply

