Going to the Movies Alone

Have you ever gone to the movies by yourself? For many, many years I would never have done it.  I thought that people would be looking at me, wondering why I didn’t have anyone to sit behind me.

But then I learned that being alone is okay.  First I had to eat alone sometimes when I started working.  During college I took some summer jobs in the city where I didn’t know a soul, and I found myself sitting alone at coffee shops or salad bars.  Soon I realized that a lot of other people were eating alone too.  This didn’t mean that I wanted to go to a fancy restaurant by myself for dinner (I still wouldn’t do that — opting for room service instead) when I traveled to foreign cities when I joined the permanent work force, but a quick meal in a diner I could deal with.

And then came the movies. 

My therapist suggested to me, years ago, that I try going alone.  I love going to the movies.  I love the big screens.  I love the popcorn.  I used to love the Diet Coke, which unfortunately I can no longer drink (now it’s a bad bottle of Dasani to accompany my popcorn).  I love the previews.  (Don’t love the commercials though!)

Going to the movies alone is a treat for me, which I don’t partake in very often.  I can see whatever I want.  There is no debating with a child or a lover or a friend over what to see.  I can sit wherever I want — again, no negotiating over aisle vs. center seats, close to the screen or in the middle.  I like to be relatively close to the screen, near an aisle but not on it I don’t like to feel trapped in case I have to go to the bathroom.  I hate asking people to stand up or to block them if I need to get in and out.

Why am I writing about this today you wonder? Yes, you’re right.  I am thinking about seeing a movie alone, though I probably won’t be able to today.  Plus, it’s pouring, and if it doesn’t stop I would rather watch Tivo’d episodes of “Grey’s Anatomy”, “The Real Housewives of New York City”, and “Bethenny Ever After”.  However, if I do decide to venture out I am going to see something that nobody else really wants to see with me (though I bet Lorrie would if we were together).  What is this movie, you ask, that I want to see alone, sitting in a darkened (and probably mostly unfilled) theatre, not having to share my popcorn with anyone?

“Something Borrowed”. 

Loved the book.  Think I’ll love the movie adaptation too.  I will review it after I see it.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

