Some People Hate My Blog

Some people hate my blog.  They have told me.  Just yesterday I was told, and I quote, that my blog is:

“sophomoric” (though I spell it differently),

“pathetic”, and

“narcissistic”.

I was also told that (and I quote again), my blogs are:

“a joke”,

and that I am:

“humiliating myself”

by writing it.

It’s interesting, because I like reading sophmoric narcissistic books and blogs and articles by other people.  I don’t find it to be a waste of time at all, and when I do I stop reading.  I love autobiographies about people’s lives, which are certainly “narcissistic” if you want to put that kind of a spin on it.  I loved Portia de Rossi’s book recently, and Andre Agassi’s last year, and many others.  I also enjoy reality television shows sometimes, especially “The Real Housewives of New York City” and the Bethenny Frankel series, currently titled “Bethenny Ever After”, and all of “The Bachelor” and “Bachelorette” shows.  Are these people narcissists? I guess you could say so, but often I find that they have something to say that is interesting or entertaining to me. 

My goal is to live life fully because we are only on this planet for a very short time.  Look at the sky on a clear night.  We are not even a blip on the radar screen.  Our problems are really not all that important. 

I believe that we should try to live our lifes with kindness and love.  We should try to be good parents first and foremost and good friends and citizens.  What else really matters at the end of the day?

All I can say is that if you hate reading my blog please stop reading it.  I am certainly not asking you to. 

And if you enjoy it then I welcome and embrace you with kindness and love.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Some People Hate My Blog

  1. Jeff Schweon says:

    Your blog is a pretty good reflection of who you are. If people like you, they should like your blog. If they don’t…..well, I leave that to you. I like the restaurant, movie and music recommendations. Keep on writing.

    • mallorylayne says:

      Thanks for your support. And you’re right… for the most part people who don’t like me don’t like the blog. But, as I have written before, why would anyone who doesn’t like me want to read it in the first place???

  2. Lorrie says:

    I love your blog. I can’t wait to go th the Dutch when I’m in NYC next. Reasons why I love it:
    I know what’s going on in your life everyday
    I know what my godchildren are doing-Jack’s tournament, Morgan’s 17th..
    Since we are Siamese twins, it’s good to know what you are reading, listening to and watching- I love Bethanny, too.
    Most of all because l love you and if you are enjoying it then so am I.

    • mallorylayne says:

      I love you too sister! I now know officially where Bethenny lives… I will tell you face to face in order to protect her privacy! I wish you would either: 1) write a blog so I know everything that you are doing, enjoying, etc., or 2) call me more frequently and tell me! I miss you a lot! When are you heading up north? It isn’t too cold now.

  3. Beautifully put.

    People gravitate toward blogs because they want to feel connected to others. We want to really, truly see what it’s like living in someone else’s head.

    Sitting and chatting with folks is great, but–in most cases–there’s only so much of the heart of any matter that can be touched on in two-way conversation. The kinds of open questions folks answer by blogging allows us to see the world through someone else’s eyes, which in turn allows us to not feel so alone. There’s so much commonality of experience, when we get right down to it!

    It amazes me how openly people will complain and criticize when it would be so easy to just move right along along and put that energy toward something positive.

    • mallorylayne says:

      So true, but it does give us something to blog about :).
      Life is short. My father always taught me to enjoy each day because it could be my last and I try. I try.
      Thanks for your comments. They are much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

