Why I Loved My Mother’s Day Yesterday

When my boyfriend and I went to pick my children up before dinner last night, I was greeted by my children as follows:

My daughter was clutching two huge bunches of roses — close to two dozen in each hand.  One for me, and one for my boyfriend’s mother.  How sweet, right? She paid for them with her own hard earned money.  Way to warm a mother’s heart instantly.

My son had gone shopping with his Aunt and bought me a book by an author that I love…
Emily Giffen.  Perfect light mommy reading.  My heart runneth over.  I am pretty sure that I have already read this book, but I’m now reading it again and enjoying it, though every other sentence has a certain familiarity (wonder why?).

I love my children! I will never tell them that I don’t like a gift that they give me, no matter what.  It is totally the thought that counts, and they truly showed thoughtfulness and love in their choices.

They also gave gifts to their stepmother, which makes me happy.  I have helped to raise two kind, loving, thoughtful children and that is not always an easy feat.  Children… you did good, no let’s make that great, yesterday.  I love you guys madly!

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

