Sweet Seventeen

Today my daughter is seventeen years old! As promised, here are a few anecdotes about my daughter’s first seventeen years:

At 2 – I had to go and speak to her school psychologist because she refused to turn three.  Every time someone came up to her and said, “You’re going to be three years old soon,” she would hide behind my legs and refuse to acknowledge this turning point.  Most of the psychologist’s advice was way too earthy crunchy for me, but she gave me one great idea: find something that a three year old can do that a two year old can’t…

We went to Toys ‘R Us.  My daughter wanted Barbie roller blades.  Right on the box it said, “Ages 3 and Up”. 

“Oh well,” I told her sadly as she smiled at the box, imagining herself skating around Tribeca.  “Two year olds can’t roller blade.  Only three year olds can.”

“But I’m going to be three on May 5th!” she said happily.

Problem solved folks.  She turned three successfully, skating around town with her little helmet and pads.

Brilliant therapist #1.

She couldn’t sleep unless she was held or cuddled.  She would bang on our door with a baseball bat, screaming for hours.  Lovely.

When I went out she would vomit at the elevator.  Yes, I know… I did the exact same thing when I was little.  Why is it that my children pick up all of my most horrifying traits?

She was a lovely little girl though.  She was always kind to old people, sick people, handicapped people, and she still is.  In second grade she befriended the boy in her class who had a “special” teacher that stayed by his side all day long.  Nobody else would play with him, but she did.  As a matter of fact, she just saw him a few weekends ago, and he’s still pretty strange.  She is kind to everybody.  A wonderful trait.

The day my little baby girl was born, seventeen years ago today, friends and family lined up downstairs at Mt. Sinai to meet her.  Everybody got only a few minutes with her so the other people waiting patiently could come up and catch a peek too.  She was totally beautiful — a 10 on the perfect baby scale.  She is still beautiful – now a 10 on the seventeen year old scale.

I love you baby.  You are an awesome person.  I am very lucky to be your mom, and I could not imagine life without you in it.

I wish you all good things every day for the rest of your life.  You are spectacular.  You can do anything you choose to do. 

Happy Birthday!!!

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

