Restless Leg Syndrome

I had it long before it had a name.  Long before I had ever heard of it.  As a little girl, I would lie in bed, my legs driving me crazy! They couldn’t get comfortable.  It was like I had to get out of my skin but couldn’t.  Trying to fall asleep night after night, my legs drove me insane.  My legs were annoying me.  I couldn’t get comfortable.  Yikes!

When I saw a commercial about Restless Leg Syndrome a few years ago I was amazed.  I could not believe that other people experienced this too! I could not believe that enough people suffered from it — and actually admitted it — that there were treatments for it.

I still have it.  Guess what? My daughter does too!

Have we sought treatment?

Of course not!

Last night I had a really bad bout of it.  I was trying to take a little snooze between the time my children went off to their respective bedrooms and my boyfriend returned from his business dinner.  I was tired.  Wanted to take a little nap with my dog Grandpa.

But… no can do nap! My legs were driving me loco! Restless Leg Syndrome had struck again.  Luckily our cases are not too bad and do not interfere with our overall quality of life, though apparently some people have it a lot worse than we do.  There are medications for it, treatments.

All I can say is… there seems to be a medication and a treatment for everything these days! We used to keep these types of things private, but now we have medications and commercials advertising:

Restless Leg Syndrome,

Incontinence,

Impotence,

Depression,

Addictions, including drugs, alcohol and cigarettes,

Sex addiction (since when is that a problem?),

Anxiety,

and so much more that I could type forever, but I don’t feel like it.

Don’t worry though.  Anything that is wrong with you is wrong with other people too.  You are not alone.  Just google it or blog about it or talk about it and you will soon find dozens, or hundreds, or thousands, or even millions of people who share your pain.  Isn’t the world amazing? Everyone is screwed up now.  In the old days everyone died before their teeth fell out.  Now we have fillings, braces, retainers, root canals, veneers, bridges, and on and on and on.

No wonder the world’s population is going to reach 10 billion people by the year 2100.  Nobody dies any more! We have treatments and cures for everything.  Soon we are going to run out of resources.  Look at gas.  I paid $100 to fill my tank this morning (I know, I already told you that and I am like a broken record, but I just can’t believe that I spent a hundred dollars for the privilege of driving my children to school).

People need to start adopting and stop birthing.  There are so many babies in Africa that they are bursting at the seams.  African babies are adorable.  We should go to Africa and adopt some of them rather than going through in vitro fertilization and spending tens of thousands of dollars.  Many children need homes already!

But I digress.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

