Dancing with Strangers

Last night we were at the Derek Trucks/Susan Tedeschi show (with two of our favorite couples on the planet) at Highline Ballroom.  It is such a great venue for us “older” people, because we can reserve tables where we watch from above while we are served food and drinks.  This is much more civilized than squeezing in among the thrashing crowd that was on the floor below us.

First of all, the show was great! Derek Trucks is one of the best guitarists alive and his wife rocked the place with her beautiful voice. 

The highlight of the evening, for me, was this adorable older couple that was sitting right near us.  When I say older, you have to know that I mean “old”, since even we’re old these days compared to most people.

The man was wearing a black top hat.  He was sort of big and a bit sloppy looking.  The woman, at first, seemed like a he/she.  In other words I wasn’t sure if she was a man or a woman, though I decided that she was a woman.  She had very short, curly reddish hair, and was dressed as if she knew she needed to cover herself with “clothes” so she went into a store and said, “Can I please buy some clothes?” You know what I mean? It’s sort of like when you look around on the street around Times Square and people look like they needed “pants”, “shirts”, “shorts”.  They are just garments, with no redeeming quality.  Plain, not particularly well made, but they do they job.

Anyway, I digress.

The couple was drinking a bottle of champagne.  They finished the bottle of champagne.  The man ordered another bottle of champagne and begin to imbibe some more.  Then he started to dance.

He was adorable! I just love it when people will get up and dance without caring who is watching or what anybody thinks.  He was dancing alone, so guess what? I decided to dance with him.  I walked over and started dancing with him and he was so happy! His face lit up in a glorious smile.

“Where were you when I was young?” he asked me.

After our dance he grabbed me and kissed me on the cheek.

“You’re not old and I’m not young,” I told him.  “But you and your woman are adorable.”

The woman seemed a bit worried that I might be moving in on her man, so I assured her that they were the cutest couple of the night and I left. 

Sometimes I love my life.

About mallorylayne

midlife mom seeking meaning for the rest of her life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

